MBTA: The Redemption

Alright, so I’m not the biggest fan of the MBTA. 

Maybe it’s because I live off the B Line, or maybe it’s just my burning hatred for the passengers who find some sadistic enjoyment in making sure my commute is 30 minutes longer and 100 times more stressful every morning. Or maybe those two are completely synonymous. 

I digress. 

The T has not been good to me in my 4 years in Boston, but a recent development might just get the system on my good side after all these years. The MBTA just announced that, starting March 28th, trains will keep running ‘til 2:30 am on Friday and Saturday nights. 

YOU HEARD RIGHT. 2:30 AM. 

Image

Gone are the days of standing outside the club for an hour in 20 degree weather, hopelessly flailing at a row of full and/or unresponsive cabs in your desperate quest back to campus. Farewell to leaving the bar an hour early to catch a ride, and to the subsequent overpriced fare popping up in your bank statement the next morning. One tap of my semester pass and I’m home free in time to place my Dominos order before the 3am deadline. Life is good

I personally plan on using the hell out of this service to make sure the Commonwealth keeps it running. What do you guys think; are you on board for the late night T?

Leave a comment